Word of the Month: agar-agar


[ustrading]

Agar Agar is a vegetarian gelatin substitute produced from a variety of seaweed vegetation. It is sold in health food stores in both flake and powder varieties, and can be used in a variety of dairy-free and vegan recipes as a stabilizing and thickening agent for custards,puddings,sauces and even vegetarian marshmallows. [Definition pulled from Dairy Free Cooking] Fun fact: The package above is what my mom uses and I didn’t even know that was agar-agar until I actually read the packaging one day!

Crème Caramel Custard (Vegan and Egg-Free) does require some ingredients like organic cane sugar and soy margarine but if you don’t care to make it vegan you can probably just substitute it for what you have.

Strawberry Daiquiri Agar Gel Cubes sounds so interesting that I had to look at how to make them! This is the kind of recipe that you want to make if you want people to talk about them all night. These are alcoholic but I feel that you can substitute the alcohol for lemonade.

Homemade Vegetarian Marshmallows are something that I had the chance to try when it was a co-workers birthday and it was so good! I have had marshmallows before but they were okay or too chewy, vegetarian ones are amazing, light, and easy to chew.

-The Mermaid Network

Advertisements

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s